*JUST IN!* Chris Bangs – Firebird – Acid Jazz UK CD

*JUST IN!* Chris Bangs – Firebird – Acid Jazz UK CD


Following the success of his 2022 mod-club, soul-jazz adventure with Mick Talbot, on 27 January Acid Jazz Records will release Chris Bangs’ compendium of dance-floor fillers and Latin dynamite.

Chris, who coined the term ‘acid jazz’, has created a new solo album of 10 tracks that takes his unique spin on jazz DJ-ing and turned it to producing an album that is totally reminiscent of the classic ’80s era on the UK dance scene.

Recent single ‘Firebird’ (Jazz FM’s Breakfast show ‘track of the week’) encompasses a lifetime of Chris’s musical influences to present a jazz-tastic smorgasbord of bossa, fusion, bop jazz funk, salsa and a myriad selection of other jazz stylings all delivered with his trademark ear for the grooves and melodies to go with it.

Paying tribute to his roots, ‘East Coast’ is the distinctive sound of jazz-funk fusion which spread through UK clubs in the early ’80s, whereas ‘Dinamita’s heavy duty percussion-led Montuno Salsa groove tips its hat to the sound of ’70s NYC via Puerto Rico.

Elsewhere the album features a tough Batucada rework of Dom Um Romao’s ‘Kitchen (Cosina)’, the bossa of Cal Tjader’s ‘Samba Do Sueno’, Brazilian disco funk-jazz ‘Sambara’ via the epic samba fusion ‘Lifetimes’.

Firebird features an array of in-demand and exceptional musicians, including jazz guitarist Nigel Price (Van Morrison, David Axelrod, JTQ), supreme jazz piano stylist Janette Mason (Seal, KD Lang, Robert Wyatt), trumpeter Dave Priseman (Jeff Beck, Imelda May), bassist Ernie Mckone (Boogie Back), saxophonist Simon Bates (Elvis Costello, Chaka Khan, Carleen Anderson), and fresh from his remix work with Paul Weller, vibesman Roger Beaujolais.

This brilliant team of collaborators have helped a remarkable musical maverick create a truly unique and incredibly exciting album. Independently self-produced and composed, Firebird is a set of tunes better than any Chris Bangs had ever done.


1 Samba Do Sueno 3:37
2 Firebird 4:00
3 Dinamita 4:10
4 Ritmo Picante 3:30
5 Sambara 5:01
6 East Coast 4:01
7 Bam Bam 4:46
8 Kitchen (Cosina) 3:50
9 Circuit Break 4:30
10 Lifetimes 4:40

Available on backorder


Chris Bangs




Acid Jazz



Grade Disc


Release Info


Release Date


Distributed Item






Picture Sleeve