V.A. – A Different World: The Holland Dozier Holland Songbook – Kent UK CD

V.A. – A Different World: The Holland Dozier Holland Songbook – Kent UK CD


A long-overdue addition to Ace’s ongoing Songwriter Series, the words and music of brothers Brian and Edward Holland and their colleague Lamont Dozier were and still are the foundation on which the international success of The Motown Sound was built.

Between 1963 and 1968 Holland-Dozier-Holland wrote hit after hit for Berry Gordy’s company, their songs making stars of some of Motown’s biggest names – including but not limited to the Supremes and Four Tops.  From 1969 to 1973 the trio carried on penning smashes and classics for their own Invictus/Hot Wax/Music Merchant set up, creating new stars in the Honey Cone and Freda Payne, among others.

Holland-Dozier-Holland songs have been revisited many times by all sorts of artists, and “A Different World” brings two dozen diverse names and interpretations of their repertoire, with Motown and Invictus stalwarts like the aforementioned Supremes and Tops (as well as  Martha and the Vandellas, Kim Weston, the Miracles and more) sharing disc space with The Band, Brenda Lee, The Vanilla Fudge, Laura Nyro and even The Fall – just a few of the non-traditional names who reinterpret Holland-Dozier-Holland’s vison of ‘The Sound Of Young America’ in their own individual and inimitable ways.

As ever, “A Different World’s booklet is packed with label shots, copious other images and an extensive sleeve note that gives deep detail about the featured songs. It may be long-overdue, but it is an essential tribute to a stellar writing team and is well worth the wait!

Tony Rounce


01 Where Did Our Love Go – Donnie Elbert
02 Love’s Gone Bad – Chris Clark
03 Jimmy Mack – Martha & The Vandellas
04 Don’t Do It – The Band
05 Baby I Need Your Loving – Marvin Gaye & Kim Weston
06 How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) – Brenda Lee
07 Reach Out, I’ll Be There – Gloria Gaynor
08 Heaven Must Have Sent You – Diana Ross & The Supremes
09 Medley Of Soul (It’s The Same Old Song / Something About You / I Can’t Help Myself) – Big Al Downing
10 While You’re Out Looking For Sugar – Honey Cone
11 There’s A Ghost In My House – The Fall
12 Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me A Little While) – The Isley Brothers
13 You Keep Me Hanging On – The Vanilla Fudge
14 A Love Like Yours (Don’t Come Knocking Everyday) – Dusty Springfield
15 This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You) – Bettye Swann
16 New Breed Kinda Woman – Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier
17 Band Of Gold (Unedited Alternate Version) – Freda Payne
18 Leaving Here – Eddie Holland
19 I’m In A Different World – Four Tops
20 I Think You Need Love – Dionne Warwick
21 (Come Round Here) I’m The One You Need – Smokey Robinson & The Miracles
22 Come See About Me – Barbara Mason
23 Helpless – Kim Weston
24 Come And Get These Memories – Laura Nyro

Available on backorder




A Different World: The Holland Dozier Holland Songbook







Grade Disc


Release Date


Release Info


Distributed Item






Picture Sleeve